DSC_0730

Like most girls I know, I love getting dolled up.

I hardly go anywhere without perfecting my makeup & throwing some curls into my hair.

So I was challenged at training this past week when my fellow camp counselors and I were told makeup & hot irons were not allowed unless otherwise stated for special events.

DSC_0745

Slowly but surely, I began to fall in love with waking up with a clean face & the reassurance that my natural self was far more valuable than a mask of mascara, foundation, and eyeshadow.

And in the past two weeks I have started to redefine what makes me feel beautiful.

So with that being said, let’s get personal.

This is me: makeup free and standing up for true beauty.

DSC_0755

DSC_0627

I have struggled my whole life with insecurity and I am sick and tired of it.

Can I get an amen?

If so, I invite you to join with me.

DSC_0621

Stop wishing you were someone else.

Stop expecting people to treat you a certain way because of your looks.

Stop hating your body, your personality, your weird qualities, and the things that make you unlike anyone else.

Stop treating others like they are better or worse than you.

Stop pursuing an ideal of beauty that is made by a computer & various photoshop programs.

Stop relying on others to define the way you feel about yourself.

AND stop walking by the mirror and tearing yourself apart.

Don’t you know you were fearfully & wonderfully made?

Take time today to tell yourself you are beautiful, because you are.

Stop  being your biggest critic, but rather become your biggest fan.

DSC_0737

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” -Marilyn Monroe

____________________________________

Thank you once again to my sweet Corinne Day for photographing these for me.

You, my dear, are beauty.

