IMG_4443

 This is my best friend, Hannah. If you know me at all, you probably have noticed by now that we are basically inseparable. One short year ago, she was just some girl I knew in college who happened to love Jesus and people just as much as I do. Today, she undoubtedly knows me better than I know myself.

My roommates in college are two of my favorite people in the world. With Hannah being one of them, I have learned so much over this past year. I have listed out a few of the most important things that I have learned to fall in love with this year. I encourage you all to do the same.

1. Being Alone: “Don’t forget to fall in love with yourself first.” – Carrie Bradshaw

If you’re anything like me, you hate being alone. I love to have constant entertainment and someone to talk to, but sometimes we need to spend time by ourselves to be reminded of who we really are. Before you can ever give everything you are to someone, be that a friend or a boyfriend/girlfriend (etc), you have to know just what it is that makes you different from the rest. Take time alone to remind yourself of these things rather than looking to others to fill in that self esteem deficit.

2. Giving Compliments: “God didn’t ask us to just love some people; probably so we wouldn’t spend our whole lives deciding who was on the list.” –Bob Goff

There is never too much nice in the world. Some of my worst days were turned around simply by one single remark or dose of assurance said by someone out of the sheer goodness of their hearts. At this point in life, it’s vital to remember that a little bit of a good goes a long way. You can never be too generous with sweet words.

3. Saying “yes”: “Say yes and you’ll figure it out afterwards.” – Tina Fey

I can’t tell you how many lectures I have had to sit through that my parents have reiterated this simple concept, over and over again. This is the time in life where mistakes are inevitable. Overcommit yourself, stay out too late, and start taking chances that scare you…because you may not know now when, why, where, or how but you’ll sure as heck figure it out along the way.

IMG_4533

IMG_4595

IMG_4530

4. Road Trips: “Sometimes you have to get lost to find yourself again.”

 Like I have said in a previous post, the place where I spend the most time these days is in my car. In fact, in the past two weeks I have been in 5 different cities and 3 different states. Why? Because I’m a restless mess and as they say, “Adventure is out there!” Traveling far distances and leaving the country may be a bit much for most of our college-kid bank accounts, but you would be surprised at the amount of cool stuff lies just a little bit down the road. Grab some friends, throw some gas in the tank, and drive.

5. Being Disconnected: “Wherever you are, be all there.” -Jim Elliot

 I am so guilty of spending way too much time on my phone and getting distracted by things/people on social media. Heck, I think we all are these days. I’m sure if you’ve heard it once, you’ve heard it a million times. Take some time to disconnect for a little while. Put down your phone and be intentional about making the most of whatever you are doing, wherever you are, with whoever you are with.

6. Letting Go: “Some people believe holding on and hanging in there are signs of great strength. However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.” –Ann Landers

I have held onto way too many things in my life that just this year, I am learning to let go. Whether that be relationships, bad habits, insecurities, or memories of the past, we all have something that we are still clinging too. Drop the baggage and let yourself grow in the freedom of knowing that whatever it is, it is no longer holding you back from being all that you are called to be. Purposeful people can not get caught up clinging to the past.

7. Serving: “If you have the power to make someone happy, do it. The world needs more of that.”

What a better way to spend these years than by giving your time and energy into something that you care about. Find your passion and go find a way to get lost in it. There are an endless amount of causes and organizations that so desperately need people like you and me to go and give of their time. Time is a  precious thing, because it is the only thing that we have that we can’t get back. Go spend yours doing something for someone or something else.

              _______________________________________

A special thanks to my guest photographer, Morgan Quigley. Girl, you rock.

These Wildfox tanks, Novella Royal pants, kimono, and jewelry can all be found at Staxx.

Shop in today or online to get hooked up with some of my absolute favorite brands with the help of my favorite Staxx ladies. As always, a super special thanks to each and every one of you.

               _______________________________________

Friends like Hannah are hard to come by. In fact, her humble heart will probably get hate me for even giving her this much of a spotlight. But while I’m at it, I’m going to go ahead and throw in this extra picture to show y’all how much of a babe she really is. Sorry Han 🙂

photo

 

 

