DSC_0073 The month of May brings with it some pretty neat things.

The Kentucky Derby is my particular favorite.

Fashion has always had a significant impact on the entirety of the race’s attendance and reputation.

For women, it can be a given that most will be wearing frilly, pastel dresses or their finest suits.

For men, it is just as much, if not more, of a fashion show.

(Many of which I would have no problem with dating.)

And of course, what would the Kentucky Derby be without the  hats?

Considered the “The Greatest Two Minutes in Sports,” The Kentucky Derby is a standard display of coveted Sourthern-inspired fashion.

DSC_0002

DSC_0050

For this week’s post, I decided to feature my take on a popular “Derby look.”

As shown, I chose a navy Bless’ed Are The Meek dress and the floppiest of floppy hats from my favorite local boutique.

Paired with MAC red lip and Gianni Bini nude heels, this look is both fitting and versatile for all kinds of spring and summer events.

DSC_0064

DSC_0068

With the hecticness that is college/ high school finals season, I hope that you all got out to celebrate this weekend’s festivities.

Check back soon for the announcement of May’s Girl of the Month.

Happy Cinco de Mayo! See you next week!

___________________________

A special thanks to Staxx and Corinne Day for their contributions to this post.

Needing a dress for an upcoming graduation or spring wedding?

Find this dress in store or on their Facebook!

Want more? I encourage you to check out my photographer’s Instagram (@corinnenday) for bloopers from this shoot. Give her a follow! Trust me, you’ll be glad you did.

As well, follow me (@laneygipson) for updates on posts and sneak peaks into each and every post.

DSC_0052 DSC_0015

 

 

 

 

